Featured Post

Drake—“Free Spirit” (Feat. Rick Ross)

“Free Spirit” is the second new track Drake is dropping tonight (supposedly a third on the way). This song is also produced by Noah “40” Shebib, features Rick Ross, and is more upbeat than “Club Paradise”. From 40’s bouncy production, to Drizzy’s enthusiastic...

Read More

Any Given Sunday #5: Two New Tracks From J. Cole

Posted by J. Block | Posted in Justin's Archive | Posted on 05-09-2011

Tags: , , , , , , ,


J. Cole continues his “Any Given Sunday” series with two new tracks tonight. Says Cole of the songs:


Produced by Chase N. Cashe and J. Cole. Some shit we did out in LA! Not on the album, but something you should have. Ride to it. Shout to my nigga Chase!


Did a lot of records in LA some months back. This is another one. Not album material, but its HEAVY. Produced by J. Cole.



Hit the jump to see the Cole World: The Sideline Story tracklist+a few notes on it…

In case you missed it, last week he released his album tracklist for Cole World: The Sideline Story:

1. Intro
2. Dollar and a Dream III
3. Can’t Get Enough ft. Trey Songz
4. Lights Please
5. Interlude
6. Sideline Story
7. Mr. Nice Watch ft. Jay-Z
8. Cole World
9. In The Morning ft. Drake
10. Lost Ones
11. Nobody’s Perfect Ft. Missy Elliott
12. Never Told (prod. by No I.D.)
13. Rise and Shine
14. God’s Gift
15. Breakdown
16. Cheer Up

Bonus Tracks:
1.Nothing Lasts Forever
2.Work Out
3.Daddy’s Little Girl

Just a few notes on the tracklist:
-I don’t understand why “In The Morning” and “Lights Please” are included on the album (they’d make nice bonus tracks). Although “Lights Please” is a classic J. Cole track, it’s a mixtape cut from 2009. If it doesn’t flow perfectly within the scheme of the album, I’ll be very disappointed. “In The Morning” was the standout song from 2010’s Friday Night Lights, but it’s another mixtape cut on an album. It’s also one of Cole’s most commercially appealing recordings, so I’m willing to bet that it’ll be the second single—that’s the only reason I can see why it’s on Cole World. Speaking of singles…
-“Can’t Get Enough” featuring Trey Songz was officially released as the album’s first single today after leaking a few months ago. Basically, it was J. Cole and the label admitting that “Work Out” was a flop—it’s a bonus cut now. “Can’t Get Enough” is a fun song with a smooth feel, and Trey Songz kills the hook in the most un-Trey Songz way possible—he doesn’t steal the song like he normally does. This was the track that J. Cole thought in his RESPECT. magazine story (from fall 2010) that could “be the hit that raises his profile and brings his dream of releasing a classic debut album to the masses.”


Write a comment